Skip to main content

Stormy Weather: Home

Source Requirements

You will need at least:

  • One print source. This can include your textbook.
  • One news source.  A database is good place to look.
  • One diagram of what is happening in the atmosphere during the storm.  You may use your textbook for this.
  • Two photographs of the damaging effects of the storm.  Britannica Image Quest should be where you look first. 

You will use NoodleTools to cite all your sources including your textbook and images or diagrams you use in your project.   

Encyclopedia Britannica

World Book Encyclopedia

Databases

Looking for fantastic articles for your project?  Look no farther than the MICDS databases for efficient and effective one stop article shopping.  When you use databases you know the articles are credible and they have the handy dandy pre-made citation for your bibliography!  How cool is that?  I know you're wondering, "how can I access these timely articles?"

Click on Gale or Kid's Info Bits

  • Sign in with Google
  • Go to Advanced Search
  • For Gale, set the Content Level to Basic and Intermediate
  • Set the Lexile reading level to 0-1070

Gale Middle School Research in Context

Gale Science in Context

ABC-CLIO US Geography

ABC CLIO World Geography

Kids InfoBits


EBSCO Explora

Research databases
Limit Your Results

EBSCO Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source
Limit Your Results

Britannica Image Quest

Messing Library Catalog - The OPAC

Research Databases

Databases provide credible and vetted sources for all your academic research needs.

NoodleTools

Stay organized and on track with your research. Let NoodleTools do the grunt work while you spend your time researching.

Canvas

St. Louis County Library

All MICDS students and faculty are entitled to receive a FREE St. Louis County Library card regardless of where you live!  Besides awesome books and programs, the St. Louis County Library has an amazing audio book collection which makes it well worthwhile!  For more information about getting a free SLCL library card ask at Messing Library or click the image above to visit the SLCL's website.