Skip to main content

MICDS McCulloch Library: About McCulloch Library

McCulloch Library FAQs

How many library materials may I check out at any one time?

There is no limit on the amount of library materials that may be borrowed.

How long may Iibrary materials be borrowed?
Library materials may be borrowed for three weeks and renewed as long as no one else is waiting for the item.  Equipment may be borrowed for one week.  Books that are on reserve may be borrowed for overnight use only.  They may be borrowed after school and must be returned before first period the next school day.
  
What if I need a book that isn't in McCulloch Library?
Check with a member of the library staff to see if we can find the book at another local library or order it for you.
 
Can I eat/drink/have snacks in the library?
Only drinks are allowed in the library.
If I bring a book/AV equipment back late, is there a fine?
MICDS Libraries do not charge late fees.
 
I lost a library item! What do I do?
You are responsible for any items checked out in your name, and the library will need to be reimbursed for lost items.  Please bring a check to the library  made out to MICDS for lost materials. 
 
What will happen if I don't return or reimburse the library for lost materials?
If at the end of the school year, you still have outstanding materials on your account, your family will be billed for those lost items. 
 
I paid for a lost library book, but now I found it.  Will you reimburse me?
Yes, as long as it is in the same school year. 
 
I need to do a project. Do you have supplies at the library?
Yes. We have assorted colored papers and pencils, markers, scissors, tape, staplers, rulers, a three-hole punch, glue sticks and paper clips for you to use.  Please return them to the supply station when you are finished. 

 

McCulloch Library Resources

McCulloch Library provides a variety of materials and services to support your academic needs as well as personal interests. Check them out!

Books: Our collection includes over 22,500 books for checkout.  Books are selected for both curricular, educational, and recreational purposes. Click here to search our catalog, Destiny Quest.
 

 

Databases: We subscribe to over 40 scholarly databases that support research projects in our curriculum. Click here for our database page.
 

 

Copying and Printing:  A color copier is available for your use.  Please remember to be sustainable and responsible when using the printer/copier; avoid using color unless it is truly necessary.  The name of the printer/copier is US-Library-XeroxColor7855. You may also use our other black and white copier, called US-Library-Xerox3655.
 
To install the printer on your laptop:
1) Go to the Start icon on the bottom left of your screen.  Type \print in the blank dialog box.  (Be sure to use the correct backslash.  It is above your enter key.)
2) A list of all available printers will appear.  Navigate to US-Library-XeroxColor 7855 or US-Library-Xerox 3655 and double click.  This will then bring up a pop-up box, indicating it is installing the printer, and will notify you when it is ready to be used.
 
Scanning: A color scanner is available via the color copier.  Please see the library staff if you need help using it. 
 
Equipment: Still cameras, Flip video cameras, camcorders, tripods, microphones, headphones, computer chargers, DVD/CD ROM Drives, Wii Systems and games, thumb drives, DVD/VHS players, and a portable screen may be checked out. 
 
eBooks: Do you prefer to read digitally?  McCulloch Library has six Kindles and six Nooks loaded with award-winning titles available for you to borrow.  It also has over 200 nonfiction and reference eBooks available to read on your computer. These eBooks may be accessed through the library's catalog. 
 
Audiobooks: McCulloch Library has a variety of audiobooks in various formats. Classic audiobooks are available from our library catalog to download onto your own device.  We also loan out Playaways as well as some audiobooks on CD for books that are a required part of the curriculum. Often the best source for audiobooks is your local library.  All you need is a library card and you can download them from home to your own device.  Use this link to access audiobooks at the St. Louis County Library.
Magazines: We offer over 60 magazines which may be checked out overnight.  Articles from over 500 popular magazines are also available through the library's databases.
 
 
 
 

Collection Development Policy

Want to know how we develop and curate our collection? Read on. . .