Skip to main content

Consumerism: Home

Databases

The databases should be your first stop for reliable, trustworthy, and accurate information. The databases contain full-text articles from magazines, newspapers, and government reports. These are the sources that teachers want to see on your bibliographies.

Database: ABC-CLIO American History

Database: Gale Student Resources In Context

Database: JSTOR

Where to start?

Your research for this project should include a mix of sources: scholarly journal articles, primary source materials, and magazine/newspaper articles. For scholarly sources try the Gale Student Resource Center In Context or JSTOR. Remember: USE THE ADVANCED SEARCH FEATURE for more control over your searches. Also remember to use the bibliographies of sources that you have consulted to further your research and to collect helpful and "on target" articles.

Also, rely on your keyword vocabulary to formulate your searches. Don't stay locked in on one search term. Vary your searches. So, for example, if you were researching images of women in advertising a different search phrase you could use would be "gender AND advertising" . Brainstorm your topic and come up with synonyms, related terms that will expand your search.

Finally, if you want to limit your internet searches to a specific domain (.edu,.gov, .org etc.) you can in a Google search for example type in the search:
site:.edu gender AND advertising
this will bring back results only from .edu web addresses.

Find Books

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

Gale E-Book Collection

Our e-book collection is very strong on American social issues. These are digitized versions of reference sources.

x

Just for fun: Consumerism! The Musical

Subject Guide

Colleen Williamson
Contact:
314-995-7364
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:History

Web Links