Skip to main content

Database: Home

Databases

"Databases are a  large collection of data organized especially for rapid search and retrieval (as by a computer)."  Thanks, Merriam-Webster Dictionary.  In other words they are like huge online file cabinets full of credible, useful, reliable, and up-to-date information. Some databases contain articles from periodicals (magazines and newspapers).  Some are reference databases.  These databases have overview articles from encyclopedias to give you general information about a subject as well as lots of other great information.  Databases are the tools of academic research. 

We love databases because they are credible, trustworthy, reliable, and are easy to cite!

P. S. Hey Rams, our MICDS databases have a specific username and password. Ask your librarian if you can't remember them.

Encyclopedia and Dictionary Databases

 


Periodical Databases


 

Research databases
Limit Your Results

 


Newspaper Databases

Newspaper Source
Limit Your Results

Create a free NYTimes.com account using your school email address.  If you already created an NYTimes.com account, log in with those credentials.  Check your school email for a confirmation message.

Image and Video Databases

History and Social Studies Databases



Issues and Controversies Databases

 

SIRS Issues Researcher

Biography Databases

Reader - micds_midd - bic

 


Science, Health, and Technology Databases


Note: The password for Access Science is micdsrams.
 

Health Source Plus
Limit Your Results

Literature Databases

Find Your Next Book To Read:







eBooks - Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)


Arts Databases

Databases for Teachers

Professional Development Collection
Limit Your Results