Skip to main content

Immigration: Home

eBooks

McCulloch library has a collection of e-books that are very strong in American social history (history of the people of the US). These can be accessed through the catalog or through the link below. Some of the print books for this project are also available as e-books.

For citation purposes in Noodletools, cite these as databases.

Hint: If it is a multi-volume work, like the blue Encyclopedia of Immigration, make sure you are in the right volume! Look at the drop down menu on the right side of the page

Hint: In the ebooks, the search bar on the left hand side searches within a specific book. The search bar at the top of the screen searches ALL ebooks.

Database: ABC-CLIO American History

Database: Gale Student Resources In Context

Database: Gale Opposing Viewpoints

Database: Sirs Researcher

CQ Researcher

Where to start?

There are many, many resources available to help you research immigration to the United States. This page is meant to help you get started. Be careful when you select sources, for there are many biased and inaccurate resources on immigration out there. Also, for certain time periods there simply is not enough info available online. Books may be a good source of info for time periods outside the height of American immigration 1880-1900. Remember to use related keywords searches.

Think about your time period. If you aren't finding a lot of information when you are sticking to the "immigration" keyword, think about your time period itself. What was specifically going on in America during that time? War? Colonization? Industrialization? How would immigrants have been effected by these factors. Keep Who? What? Why? Where? When? in mind. For example, does your time period have a name: Progressive Era, Gilded Age, Colonial America? Is there a synonym for immigration during your time period that might be more accurate: for example "indentured servants". Use those synonyms as keywords. Think outside the box.


You will also need to rely heavily on statistics. You need to find out how many people came and from where did they come. The US census data is perfect for this. There are links below to find historical census data.

Find Books

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

Research Hint: Icyte

Use the noodle tools feature, Archive This, to capture webpages/articles that are automatically put into your noodlebib bibliographies and can be accessed (with your highlights intact!) .Install the "Archive This" bookmarklet found at the link below onto your toolbar.

Web Links