Skip to main content

African Independence: Home

Database: Global Issues in Context

Database: ABC-CLIO World History

Database:Gale World History in Context

Database: Historical Newspapers

Database: JSTOR

Search the Catalog

Books in McCulloch

Do Your Presearch

Often you will need to gather some background information on your topic before you decide on a narrower focus.  Ask yourself:
  • What do I already know?
  • What do I need to find out?
  • What information would help me answer my questions?
Initially, you may want to read some general resources to gain a better understanding of your topic.  Then, you can narrow your search by asking yourself:
  • What keywords can I use to search?
  • What synonyms, broader or narrower terms, or related ideas could I use?
  • Will proper names (people or places) focus my search?

Ebooks

Ebooks count as print sources. 

Databse Search Tips

  • Use advanced search; it will give you all of the options for searching and gives you more control over your search.
  • Use more than one search term to narrow your search.
  • Use quotes around phrases unless you want the database to search for individual words separately.
  • Limit your search to full text documents; it will save you a lot of frustration.
  • Does the database list subject terms related to the articles in the result list? Use those links to find more specific and related info.

Not finding what you're looking for? Try these tips:

  • Check your spelling.
  • Get rid of unnecessary words, especially if you are using quotes around phrases.
  • Try using other key words.
  • Use broader terms.

Note: The URL in the address box at the top of the screen is not stable for databases; if you copy and paste it into a document to use it later, the link will not take you back to the original article. Use the tools of the database to bookmark, print, email, or download the article. This simple step will save you time and frustration!