Skip to main content

Messing Library: Book Clubs

MICDS Middle School Library Website

Truman Book Club

Truman Book Club

2020-21

Read the books and join the discussion in the Messing Library

For sixth, seventh & eighth graders after school once a month to discuss two Truman books.

Contact Mrs. Tsai if you are interested in participating.

We will discuss two books on the following dates:

Thursday, Sept. 17 - Skyward & Impostors 

Tuesday, Oct. 20 –  Ghost Boys & Life Boat 12 

Thursday, Nov. 19 - Nightbooks & City of Ghosts

Tuesday, Dec. 8 - Deep Water & Not If I Save You First

Thursday, Jan 21 - Mascot &  Fire and Heist

Tuesdy, Feb. 23 - The Benefits of Being an Octopus & The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl

Thursday, March 11- Voting discussion 

Tuesday, April  - Winner will be announced

 

Read the books below before the first meeting, Sept 17

Elite Book Club- 8th Grade

Elite Book Club

2020-2021

The Elite Book Club is for 8th graders who chose to be Reader-Selectors for next year's Truman books. Students in the Elite Club commit to reading 24 books in three months! Join us from September through mid-December to discuss the books and to prepare for voting during the first week of December.

The Elite Club meets in the Messing Library's Fiction room after school from 3:20-3:40. Talk to Ms. Tsai if you want to join. 

Dates of meetings:

Tuesday, Sept 1

Thursday, October 1

Tuesday, November 10

Thursday, December 3

Tuesday, December 15

Thursday, January 7

Reveal Party: TBD