Skip to main content

Progressive Era Reformers: Home

Where to start?

Start with a basic biographical overview. ABC-CLIO American History is a good place to start. Reference books might be another good place to look. Once you have that info you will have to dig deeper. In order to properly use your reformer's voice, you should model your posts on their actual writings. Some of these sources can be found in the books in McCulloch. For others, it is best to look on Google Books. Also, many of these reformers have historical societies or libraries/archives based out of their birthplaces. Some of those have been included in the links section below.

Database: ABC-CLIO American History

Database: Historical Newspapers

Database: Gale Student Resources In Context

Database: JSTOR

Contemporary Social, Political, Economic Issues

For this aspect of the project it might be interesting to find a related topic that your reformer was involved in and see what that issue looks like today. For example, if your Reformer is John Dewey a modern education issue might be Charter Schools. For any of the Labor Leaders you could look at Right to Work. the SIRS database and ABC Clio ISsues are great databases to look for these current hot topic issues.

Image Citation

REMEMBER: When citing images, don't just cite them from the google image search results page. GO TO THE HOME PAGE of the image and get as much info as you can.  The format for image citation is as follows:

Last Name, First Name. Title of Image. Date Taken. Website, Sponsor of website if different from website, Web Address. Date Accessed.

Example:

Jewett, Charles. Effects of Drunkenness. 1841. Teach US History, www.teachushistory.org/second-great-awakening-age-reform/resources/youths-temperance-lecturer. Accessed 31 Oct. 2016.

However, sometimes you might find that you have an image where no information is provided. You may not have a photographer's name nor a title for the image. In that case you start the citation with a description of the image.

Search Google Images

Find Books

Catalog

Search the catalog to find books on your reformer.

Gale eBook Collection (GVRL)

Our ebook collection is very strong on American social issues. These are digitized versions of reference sources. You will find such online books as World Education Encyclopedia and Revolts, Protests, and Demonstrations in American History.

Google Books

Search Hints

Remember: when searching for your reformer keep in mind the greater movement that they were a part of. In searches in the library catalog they might be a part of a book (For example The History of Labor in America) but their name won't necessarily come up in a search.

 

Potential Keywords: Progressivism, Populism, Socialism, Industrialization, Labor, 

Books in the catalog