Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where to start?
Start with a basic biographical overview. ABC-CLIO American History is a good place to start. Reference books might be another good place to look. Once you have that info you will have to dig deeper. In order to properly use your reformer's voice you need to find examples of their actual writings. Some of these sources can be found in the books in McCulloch. For others, it is best to look on Google Books. Also, many of these reformers have historical societies or libraries/archives based out of their birthplaces. Some of those have been included in the links section below.
Database: ABC-CLIO American History
Database: Gale Student Resources In Context
Search Google Images
Search for topics or people to find images. Don't forget to go to the image's home page to get complete citation information.
Gale eBook Collection (GVRL)
Our ebook collection is very strong on American social issues. These are digitized versions of reference sources. You will find such online books as World Education Encyclopedia and Revolts, Protests, and Demonstrations in American History.
Many primary source documents can be found here.
Library of Congress American Memory: African American Odyssey
Song sheets, broadsides, ephemera from the Library of Congress.
Scanned speeches, articles, and books written by your reformers!
Black History at Harper's Weekly
One of the leading newspapers of 19th century America.
Africans in America
Anti-slavery primary sources from the PBS documentary
Alcohol, Temperance, and Prohibition
From the Brown University Library. The easiest way to search is to do a browse through the titles.
Excellent source for primary sources including songs, lyrics, pamphlets. from the Library Company of Philadelphia. "The Library Company of Philadelphia is an independent research library specializing in American history and culture from the 17th through the 19th centuries."
Women's suffrage primary source set
From the library of congress. An abundance of visual materials tracing the history of the women's suffrage movement.
African American Mosaic
A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History & Culture
19th Century Songsheets
A good source for images from the Library of Congress
Worchester Women's History Project
Abby Kelley, Wendall Phillips, 1850 Women's Rights Convention? Find lots of primary source documents here.
Not for Ourselves Alone
PBS presentation on Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B Anthony.
Lucretia Mott Archives
From Pomona College, a collection of Mott's writings and speeches.
Second Great Awakening
All of your reformers should be located here. A nice resource for songs, poems, and other cultural gems from the eara.
John B Gough
From the Teach US History.org site, this is a collection of speeches and writings from Mr. Gough.
American and the Utopian Dream
Info on John Humphrey Noyes from the Yale libraries.
Dutchess Anti-Slavery Singers. Scroll to the bottom of the page for Youtube links to the songs themselves.