LibGuides: African Decolonization: Home

Ebooks

Ebooks count as print sources.

Database: Gale World History in Context

Gale World History in Context This link opens in a new window

Database: ABC-CLIO World History

ABC-CLIO Modern World History This link opens in a new window

Database: Global Issues in Context

Global Issues This link opens in a new window

Database: Historical Newspapers

Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window

Database: JSTOR

JSTOR Scholarly Research This link opens in a new window

Database: Britannica Image Quest

Britannica Image Quest This link opens in a new window

Colonial Africa Before 1945

Search The Catalog

Catalog
Search the catalog to find books on your topic.

Books in McCulloch Library

Africa and the West - A Documentary History by William H. Worger; Nancy L. Clark; Edward A. Alpers
Call Number: 303.48 WOR
ISBN: 9780195373134
Publication Date: 2010-02-02
Africa and the West presents a fascinating array of primary sources to engage readers in the history of Africa's long and troubled relationship with the West. Many of the sources have not previously appeared in print, or in books readily available to students. Volume 2 picks up on the theme of conquest and covers the implementation of colonial rule, education, labor, nationalist movements, the world wars, decolonization, and independence. These documents include a German school examination for African children, the Natives Land Act from South Africa, a report on the impact of colonialism on women from the founder of the Women's League of the African National Congress, and Nelson Mandela's presidential address "No Easy Walk to Freedom."
The Making of Modern Africa by Tunde Obadina
Call Number: 960 OBA
ISBN: 9781590849989
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
Africa is the only continent where poverty levels have risen in recent decades, and many of its countries suffer from humanitarian crises, political unrest, or both. Knowledge of Africa's complex, often troubled past is crucial to understanding its current problems. The Making of Modern Africa outlines the continent's rich and diverse history, from its imposing ancient empires, to the crippling effects of European colonialism, to the dictators and fledgling democracies of the modern era. The book will provide an invaluable overview for students. Book jacket.
The History of Northern Africa by Amy McKenna
Call Number: 961 HIS
ISBN: 9781615303182
Publication Date: 2011-01-15
Alternately identified with either the countries of the Mediterranean, those of the Middle East, or other African territories, the nations of northern Africa occupy a unique physical and historical place. After centuries of fielding various foreign invaders, northern Africans have absorbed and co-opted Greek, Roman, and Arab peoples and traditions, among others. Under the pervasive turmoil that has ensued after colonial rule and internecine warfare, readers will encounter a region of various traditions that stands at a unique crossroads between several very different worlds.
Democratic Republic of the Congo by Joseph R. Oppong; Tania Woodruff
Call Number: 967.51 OPP
ISBN: 0791092496
Publication Date: 2007-02-01
Examines the geography, history, economy, and culture of the Democratic Republic of the Congo, a country struggling to recover from ongoing war.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought by F. Abiola Irele (Editor); Biodun Jeyifo (Editor)
Call Number: REF 960.03 OXF
ISBN: 9780195334739
Publication Date: 2010-04-27
From St. Augustine and early Ethiopian philosophers to the anti-colonialist movements of Pan-Africanism and Negritude, this encyclopedia offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition both on the continent in its entirety and throughout the African Diaspora in the Americas and in Europe. The term "African thought" has been interpreted in the broadest sense to embrace all those forms of discourse - philosophy, political thought, religion, literature, important social movements - that contribute to the formulation of a distinctive vision of the world determined by or derived from the African experience.

Worksheet for Class

Do Your Presearch

Often you will need to gather some background information on your topic before you decide on a narrower focus. Ask yourself:

What do I already know?
What do I need to find out?
What information would help me answer my questions?

Initially, you may want to read some general resources to gain a better understanding of your topic. Then, you can narrow your search by asking yourself:

What keywords can I use to search?
What synonyms, broader or narrower terms, or related ideas could I use?
Will proper names (people or places) focus my search?

Database Search Tips

Library Database Page

Use advanced search; it will give you all of the options for searching and gives you more control over your search.
Use more than one search term to narrow your search.
Use quotes around phrases unless you want the database to search for individual words separately.
Limit your search to full text documents; it will save you a lot of frustration.
Does the database list subject terms related to the articles in the result list? Use those links to find more specific and related info.

Not finding what you're looking for? Try these tips:

Check your spelling.
Get rid of unnecessary words, especially if you are using quotes around phrases.
Try using other key words.
Use broader terms.

Note: The URL in the address box at the top of the screen is not stable for databases; if you copy and paste it into a document to use it later, the link will not take you back to the original article. Use the tools of the database to bookmark, print, email, or download the article. This simple step will save you time and frustration!