Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Health Information
Hopefully you know by now not to trust everything you read online. This is ESPECIALLY true for medical information. There are many reasons online health information might not be reliable: The author is not a qualified medical professional, the information might be published by an entity with a vested interest in promoting something (think drug companies that might stand to make a profit), or there might be a disregard of scientific info in order to further an agenda (think of the link between autism and vaccines; science has proven there isn't a link yet some sites continue to perpetuate misinformation)
For these reasons using the TOECAP criteria (Trustworthy, Objective, Enough, Current, Accurate, Purpose) to evaluate your sources is very important. You can also use a combination of the sources listed on this libguide. DO NOT just rely on WebMD. Why should you not believe everything on WebMD? Read this article from the New York Times Magazine: A Prescription for Fear.
Books from the catalog
Why Is Autism on Rise? by
Publication Date: 2014-06-06
These books provide a range of opinions on a social issue; each volume focuses on a specific issue and offers a variety of perspectives, e.g., eyewitness accounts, governmental views, scientific analysis, newspaper accounts, to illuminate the issue.; This title explores possible causes for the recent rise in autism. It looks at improved diaganostics of autism, vitamin deficiencies, and different environmental and behavioral reasons that could lead to autism.; Greenhaven Press's At Issue series provides a wide range of opinions on individual social issues. Enhancing critical thinking skills, each At Issue volume is an excellent research tool to help readers understand current social issues and prepare reports.
Diabetes Information for Teens by
Publication Date: 2012-01-11
Provides updated information for teens about who is at risk, the different types of diabetes, and treatment and management options including facts about insulin and glucose meters.
Sports Injuries by
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
From sprained ankles and broken arms to life-altering brain damage from concussions, sports injuries affect millions of athletes every year. Through objective overviews, primary sources, and full-color illustrations this title examines, What Are Sports Injuries? How Serious a Problem Are Injuries in Youth Sports? How Are Sports Injuries Treated? and How Can Sports Injuries Be Prevented
Books from the catalog
Human Diseases and Conditions by
Publication Date: 1999-12-01
Created by a team of doctors and health education experts based at the du Pont Hospital for Children, this reference work presents the most accurate and up-to-date information available on 280 diseases and conditions. Ranging from a half-page for minor topics to seven pages for major topics, the clearly designed sections include prevention and lifestyle guidance where appropriate. In addition to photographs, special features include definitions with pronunciations, fact boxes, historical/literary sidebars and process diagrams, as well as an introduction on how the human body works. Full analytical index.
The Encyclopedia of Stress and Stress-Related Diseases by
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Many doctors agree that stress may be a significant factor in nearly 80 percent of their patients' ailments. ""The Encyclopedia of Stress and Stress-Related Diseases, Second Edition"", provides a clear, comprehensive reference to all types of stress, their causes, their impact on health, and how to cope with and treat them. This revised and updated book covers advances in mental health, new information about stress, and new forms and causes of stress. The bibliography has been expanded, and the resources section has been updated and reorganized for ease of use. The new and revised entries include accidents, chemical hazards, dating, electronic devices, falling merchandise, flexible work hours, gestalt therapy, identity theft, noise, parental after-school stress (PASS), road rage, and social phobias.
Cancer Information for Teens by
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
According to the National Cancer Institute, cancer among adolescents and young adults accounts for only two to three percent of all invasive cancer. Yet, this age group has notable concerns. Cancer is the leading cause of death by disease during the teen years, and the pattern of cancer seen in teens and young adults differs from that in people who are older or younger. Furthermore, the decisions adolescents make about tobacco use, sun exposure, sexual practices, and other lifestyle choices may have significant implications for their risk of developing cancer later in life. Cancer Information for Teens, Second Edition provides updated information about research regarding the possible causes of cancer and ways to prevent, detect, and treat it. It explains the biological processes associated with the development of cancer, and it discusses factors known to increase cancer risk.
Sexual Health Information for Teens by
Publication Date: 2008-03-01
As they mature and prepare for adulthood, teens face many academic and social challenges. In addition, they must also deal with developing bodies, sexual pressures from peers, and alluring media messages. According to statistics gathered in 2005 by the National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 47% of high school students reported having had sexual intercourse; 14% reported having had four or more sex partners. Irrespective of whether and when teens choose to enter sexual relationships, they need accurate information about how their choices can affect their health.
Infectious Mononucleosis by
Publication Date: 2008-08-15