Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

In-Text Citation: Annotated Bibliographies

Basic Bibliography format

Noodletools will format your bibliography for you (on the bibliography tab select the Print/Export option and send to Word; remember to type your name at the top!).

Bibliography Basics:

  • Make sure your bibliography is double-spaced
  • Always use Times New Roman font
  • Place entries in alphabetical order
  • Use a Hanging indent for all entries (the second line of the entry is indented 1/2 inch or 5 spaces)
  • Title should be Bibliography or Works Cited (if sources are cited in-text) and centered
  • Use margins of 1" on top and bottom and on both sides of the text
  • Do not number bibliographies!
  • If you have done parenthetical or in-text citation, they should match up with an entry on your bibliography
  • Entries start with either an individual author's name (ex: Smith, John) or the title of the article, webpage, book, etc. Do not start an entry with a corporate name
  • For alphabetic purposes ignore the words A, An, The, etc., when they start a source's title

Class powerpoint

Annotated Bibliographies

Annotated bibliographies follow the same rules as a basic bibliography but with the addition of a paragraph-long annotation. The annotation is a justification of why you chose that particular source, informing the reader of the quality and accuracy of the information. If you keep in mind the TOECAP criteria (TRUSTWORTHY, OBJECTIVE, ENOUGH, CURRENCY, ACCURATE, PURPOSE)  for selecting quality sources you can also use some of those same factors for generating an annotation. Annotations follow the source's citation information and are typically 150 words in length. Think of the annotation as having three parts:

  1. A summary of the main arguments or ideas presented by the author and depending on your assessment requirements.

  2. An evaluation of how useful you found the source. Assess its objectivity, reliability and bias, and compare it with other sources you have used.

  3. A reflection on how you used the source in your research.

 

Examples

Shatzkin, Mike, editor. The Ballplayers: Baseball's Ultimate Biographical Reference. Arbor House, 1990.

Although Shatzkin's The Ballplayers is more comprehensive in biographical content than Porter's Biographical Dictionary of American Sports:
Baseball, Porter provides somewhat lengthier entries, focusing on better known individuals. Both are excellent sources, particularly for information about individuals who lack book-length biographies. The source is also noted for its inclusion of primary source documents and lengthy essays detailing those documents. Shatzkin is a former employee of the MLB (Major League Baseball) and writes with authority on today's current players. Both include citations for further research.

Waite, Linda J., et al. "Nonfamily Living and the Erosion of Traditional Family Orientations Among Young

Adults." American Sociological Review, vol. 51, 1986, pp. 541-554.

The authors, researchers at the Rand Corporation and Brown University, use data from the National Longitudinal Surveys of Young Women and Young Men to test their hypothesis that nonfamily living by young adults alters their attitudes, values, plans, and expectations, moving them away from their belief in traditional sex roles. They find their hypothesis strongly supported in young females, while the effects were fewer in studies of young males. Increasing the time away from parents before marrying increased individualism, self-sufficiency, and changes in attitudes about families. In contrast, an earlier study by Williams cited below shows no significant gender differences in sex role attitudes as a result of nonfamily living.