LibGuides: Chemistry Problem-Solving: Home

Find Articles in Databases

Gale Science eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Gale Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Scholarly Research This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window

Be a Lateral Reader!

How to Read Laterally:

Jump off the original page to search for more information.
Use click restraint and read through the results before deciding on what to click.
Identify news organizations or fact-checking sites in the results to determine the credibility of the original site.
Use Wikipedia to determine the credibility of the original site.

Places to Start

Nuclear Chemistry: An Introduction
From VIsion Learning.
Nuclear Explained
From the U.S. Energy Information Administration.
All You Wanted to Know about Nuclear War. . .
From the Guardian, a British newspaper
Nuclear Reactors
From the Atomic Heritage foundation.
Food Irradiation
From the FDA.
Radiation in Healthcare
From the CDC.

Online Science Resources

PubChem
The world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. PubChem is a public repository for information on chemical substances and their biological activities.
PubMed Central
"PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM)."
arXiv
From Cornell University, "arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 2,119,271 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics."
Directory of Open Access Journals
"Today, this independent index contains almost 17 500 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities."
EurekAlert!
"Established in 1996, EurekAlert! is a nonprofit news-release distribution platform operated by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) as a resource for journalists and the public."
Frontiers
"Frontiers is the 3rd most-cited and 6th largest research publisher and open science platform. Our research journals are community-driven and peer-reviewed by editorial boards of over 202,000 top researchers."
MDPI
"A pioneer in scholarly, open access publishing, MDPI has supported academic communities since 1996."
National Science Foundation
"The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 'to promote the progress of science.'"
Science Advances
"Science Advances is the American Association for the Advancement of Science’s (AAAS) open access multidisciplinary journal, publishing impactful research papers and reviews in any area of science, in both disciplinary-specific and broad, interdisciplinary areas."
Science News
"For almost a century, Science News journalists have covered advances in science, medicine and technology for the general public."
Scientific Reports
"Scientific Reports is an open access journal publishing original research from across all areas of the natural sciences, psychology, medicine and engineering."

Chemistry Problem-Solving

Find Articles in Databases

Be a Lateral Reader!

How to Read Laterally:

Jump off the original page to search for more information.

Use click restraint and read through the results before deciding on what to click.

Identify news organizations or fact-checking sites in the results to determine the credibility of the original site.

Use Wikipedia to determine the credibility of the original site.

Places to Start

Online Science Resources