Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MLA Style Guide: Bibliography Basics

Basic Rules for a Works Cited

  • The Bibliography or Works Cited should be on a separate page at the end of your paper or presentation. It should have the same one-inch margins and headers or footers as the rest of your paper.
  • Center the words, Work Cited at the top of the page. (Do not italicize the words Works Cited, bold it, underline them, or put them in quotation marks).
  • The Works Cited entries should be in alphabetical order by the first letter of each citation.
  • Double space all citations and entries.
  • Indent the second and subsequent lines of citations five spaces so that you create a hanging indent.  (In Word, place your cursor in front of the first character of each citation and then click Control t to automatically format the citation properly).
  • Capitalize each word in the titles of articles, books, etc, but do not capitalize articles (the, an), prepositions, or conjunctions unless it is the first word of the title or subtitle: Gone with the Wind, The Art of War, There Is Nothing Left to Lose.
  • If you cannot find some particular piece of information, such as the author’s name, just skip that part of the bibliography. 
  • Do not number your entries.  

Be picky!  Follow the rules and punctuation exactly.   

Sample Bibliography

This is an example of a properly formatted Bibliography

 

Works Cited

Gibney, Mark, and Gil Loescher. Global Refugee Crisis: A Reference Handbook.

 ABC-CLIO, 2010.

Ggia. Syrian and Iraqi Refugees Reach the Coastal Waters of Lesbos in Greece,

 after Having Crossed from Turkey. 30 Oct. 2015. Wikimedia Commons,

30 Oct. 2015, commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:20151030_Syrians_

and_Iraq_refugees_arrive_ at_Skala_Sykamias_Lesvos_Greece_2.jpg.

Accessed 14 June 2017.

Kelley, Ninette. "Responding to a Refugee Influx: Lessons from Lebanon." Journal

on Migration and Human Security, vol. 5, no. 1, 2017, p. 82. Global Issues in

Context, link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/A491612876/GIC?u=sain62671&xid =

aaab1bef. Accessed 14 June 2017.

McDonald-Gibson, Charlotte. Cast Away: True Stories of Survival from Europe's

 Refugee Crisis. New Press, 2016.

Murtaza, Naqsh. "The Harrowing Road to Asylum." New York Times, 22 Aug. 2015.

 Global Issues in Context, link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/A426241879/GIC?u=

 sain62671&xid =bcac9a24. Accessed 14 June 2017.

"Refugees." Global Issues in Context, Gale, 2016, link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/

CP3208520090/GIC?u=sain62671&xid=21c9c142. Accessed 14 June 2017.

Scott, Margaret Loraine. "Conflict, Violence, and Terrorism: Health Impacts."

Worldmark Global Health and Medicine Issues, edited by Brenda Wilmoth

Lerner, vol. 1, Gale, 2016, pp. 110-17. Global Issues in Context,

link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/CX3628100023/GIC?u=sain62671&

xid=18ee6dc0. Accessed 14 June 2017.

"Women and Girls." Refugees International, 2015, www.refugeesinternational.org/

 women-girls. Accessed 14 June 2017.

"A Woman’s World for South Sudanese Refugees." BBC News, 13 June 2017,

www.bbc.com/news/in-pictures-39998759. Accessed 12 July 2017.

 

Messing Library Catalog - The OPAC

FIND BOOKS

NoodleTools

Research Databases

Databases provide credible and vetted sources for all your academic research needs.