Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Database: Gale World History in Context
Database: ABC-CLIO American History
Database: ABC-Clio Modern World History
Database: History Study Center
Database: Gale Student Resources In Context
Database:Classroom Video on Demand
In class activity
1. Copy this document.
2. With your partner, use the linked custom search to search "school uniforms."
3. Fill out the worksheet.
American Homefront in World War II by
Publication Date: 2004-10-29
Unlike other resources, which often focus on the day-to-day battles and other military details of World War II, American Home Front in World War II examines the effect of those battles on the people living in America from issues of ethnicity to home front organizations.
An Encyclopedia of American Women at War by
Publication Date: 2013-01-17
A sweeping review of the role of women within the American military from the colonial period to the present day.
The Taste of War by
Publication Date: 2012-03-29
Food, and in particular the lack of it, was central to the experience of World War II. In this richly detailed and engaging history, Lizzie Collingham establishes how control of food and its production is crucial to total war.
When Our Mothers Went to War by
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
This richly illustrated history shows the immense challenges American women faced on the home front and in the battle zone in World War II as pilots, shipbuilders, victory gardeners, war correspondents, flight nurses, OSS agents and much more.
Tuskegee Airmen by
Publication Date: 2011-08-17
This poignant history of the Tuskegee Airmen separates myth and legend from fact, placing them within the context of the growth of American airpower and the early stirrings of the African American Civil Rights Movement.
One Day in History - December 7, 1941 by
Publication Date: 2006-10-31
One Day in History: December 7, 1941 will provide a comprehensive and engaging overview of this date in history as well as an examination of the theme related to the date--the attack on Pearl Harbor and World War II.
Publication Date: 2005-08-16
In Sybille Steinbacher's terse, powerful new book, the reader is led through the process by which something unthinkable to anyone on earth in the 1930s had become a sprawling, industrial reality during the course of the Second World War.
World War II by
Publication Date: 2002-10-03
In this collection of great speeches from World War II, political and military leaders persuade and exhort their listeners to the great fight.
Double Cross by
Publication Date: 2012-07-31
Double Cross is a captivating narrative of the spies who wove a web so intricate it ensnared Hitler's army and carried thousands of D-Day troops across the Channel in safety.
The Secret History of World War II by
Publication Date: 2016-10-25
From top-secret spy missions to recently declassified WWII documents, this richly illustrated account of the covert espionage operations of World War II takes readers behind the battle lines and into the undercover war effort.
Women Heroes of World War II by
Publication Date: 2011-03-01
Twenty-six engaging and suspense-filled stories unfold from across Germany, Poland, the Netherlands, France, Belgium, Denmark, Great Britain, and the United States, providing an inspiring reminder of women and girls' refusal to sit on the sidelines around the world and throughout history.
Hitler's Scientists by
Publication Date: 2003-10-13
In Hitler's Scientists, British historian John Cornwell explores German scientific genius in the first half of the twentieth century and shows how Germany's early lead in the new physics led to the discovery of atomic fission, which in turn led the way to the atom bomb, and how the ideas of Darwinism were hijacked to create the lethal doctrine of racial cleansing.
The Invention That Changed the World by
Publication Date: 1996-10-09
The Invention That Changed the World is the great and largely untold story of the colorful band of brilliant scientists who created the microwave radar systems that not only helped win World War II but set off a veritable explosion of scientific achievements and technological advances that have transformed our daily lives.
War Made New by
Publication Date: 2006-10-19
In War Made New, acclaimed author Max Boot explores how innovations in warfare mark crucial turning points in modern history, influencing events well beyond the realm of combat.
Encyclopedia of Media and Propaganda in Wartime America by
Publication Date: 2010-12-20
The Encyclopedia of Media and Propaganda in Wartime America brings together a group of distinguished scholars to explore how war has been reported and interpreted by the media in the United States and what effects those reports and interpretations have had on the people at home and on the battlefield.
World War II Propaganda by
Publication Date: 2017-10-12
Shows in illuminating detail how the Allied and Axis forces used visual images and other propaganda material to sway public opinion during World War II.